The shop.

The buzzing sound of hair clippers, the distinct scent of shaving cream, the burning sensation of alcohol on my head, and the incomparable feeling of a fresh cut—the Barbershop. It all started around the mid-’90s. I was just 5 or 6 years old, but I can still remember trips to the barbershop, waking up around 6 am for a trip to the barber. Other like-minded customers also tried to be first because a Saturday barbershop visit can quickly become an all-day event. I’ve always hated the waiting game we played while sitting in the shop. However, the learning that took place while waiting played a huge part in my interests and hobbies today.

Sports

Darren cut hair in the chair beside my barber. He loved the Lakers. He would always talk about the dynamic duo of Shaq and Kobe and how they would kill any team with their pick and roll play. Kenny was my barber. He would have to suffer the experience of other patrons and barbers talking smack about his team, the Knicks. These discussions/arguments would at times become heated shouting battles that would go on forever. Consequently, this would ignite my love for basketball as I would grow up to play or watch on TV when I’d get home from school.

Music

As I sat and waited for my turn in the chair, I was always intrigued by the choice of music the barbers would play. Earlier in the morning, smooth jazz music would grace the ears of the waiting patrons. I sometimes enjoy listening to jazz music as a calming tool after a rough day. Later in the day, the barbers would listen to the poetry and storytelling of rappers like Tupac or Notorious B.I.G. I still enjoy the pleasure of both genres on any given day.

People

The shop also proved to be a good place to learn about people. It’s a place where all types of people connect on all types of things. We discuss sports, music, local news, and a host of other topics. Barbers were much more than hair stylists. As people arrived and sat in the chair, I quickly learned that barbers aren’t just barbers. They are therapists or sounding boards. People would come in and share the issues and ongoings of their lives with Kenny and Darren. No wonder you feel so much better after a trip to the barbershop/hair salon.

Author Derrick Barnes perfectly encapsulates the experience and feelings one goes through after a trip to the barbershop. In his picture book “Ode to the Fresh Cut,” he describes how optimistic and confident one feels after a trip to the shop. He writes, “When your barber is done, you’ll feel like a million dollars—and some change! When his fingertips hit you with that apple-green alcohol or that witch hazel, it’ll sting, but not like a scorpion or a hornet, more like an electric stamp of approval.” The next time you visit the barbershop or the salon, take note of the things you learn or how much better you feel after a trip to the shop.

9 thoughts on “The shop.

  1. welcome to the TWT writing community. I’m glad you’re here and sharing your stories. I know of the barber culture from my husband and from reading JD and the Barbershop with Adi a few summers ago. So neat to read about how your time there has shaped who you have become.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome to the SOL community! I must agree that barbershop culture and salon culture, especially early in the morning, is a special place with intense conversations, clear music, and opportunities for therapy woven into snipping and smoothing. I have heard stories and told of experiences there that are memorable.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome and thanks for joining us!
    You set the scene, with the early-morning wake up and arrival and the barber shop. I could hear the music and the people. What a way to build the world in a short piece of writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So happy I found your post today! From the vivid introduction that transports the reader to that first cut to your reflections through the years, this slice is insightful and full of heart. I need to add the title you mentioned to my classroom library. The book and your slice can be powerful mentor texts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how you evoke such a strong picture of barber shops with your words. As someone with long hair, I have not spent any time in barber shops. It feels like such a treat to live vicariously through your slice and see what I missed out on. I love, too, the way you tied the experiences and sounds to who you are now. Your post is making me think about what my “barber shop” is. Thank you!

    Like

  5. These snippets of barbershop stories are fantastic! They’re full of personality, experience, life. I immediately thought of Ode to the Fresh Cut as I read through your piece. Didn’t need to mention it because you covered that. 

    Funny, I was at the salon last night. Small talk sheds light on people’s lives. It’s always fun to take a peek into other people’s lives. It shows us how much we truly have in common.

    Great post and welcome to slicing!

    Like

  6. This is great, Jameel. I guess what I like about it is how different it is from my experience. When I was a kid, I had to be dragged to the barber. I wanted longer hair. My dad wanted me to “get my hair out of my eyes.” I avoided that place like the plague. When I was in high school, I went to Spiro’s to aske them to take out an ad in our h.s. newspaper. Spiro told me to take off. I guess he could tell I was not a regular customer. Then as a grown up in Fairfield, I went to the local barber until the day he told me the reason the Celtics were so good was because they had more white players. I told him I disagreed, and I never went back. I would have liiked to have your barber experiences!

    Like

  7. […] Then there was Jame’el, our assistant principal. He’s been an eager participant, contributing three slices to our school blog this month. There was one evening when he shared a photo of himself, in a group chat. He was sitting in the barber chair. That seemed like the perfect opportunity to point out a story idea. “You should write about that,” I replied. Jame’el has since created his own blog and just last week posted his first link on Tuesday’s call for Slices on the Two Writing Teacher blog, The Shop. […]

    Like

Leave a comment