Tea.

 I’m all too familiar with the use and benefits of a cup of hot tea.  In my family, hot tea has long been considered a natural home remedy for cold and flu symptoms.  It’s also been used as a way to warm up on a Saturday morning.  I can fondly remember growing up and sharing a cup of tea with Nana as she gave me saltine crackers with butter.  

      This year, I’ve discovered a new benefit of this family favorite.  In addition to being a cold remedy and way to warm up, it’s also a powerful connection tool.  A few mornings during the week, the literacy team and I start our day with a cup of tea.  This new practice has quickly become my favorite part of the day.  I usually arrive at school around 7:30, unpack and walk down to the literacy room.  “The water is already hot” Dawn will say as we sit in the child sized chairs.  The best conversations happen over tea.  Dawn often shares an inspirational quote like “We’re all responsible for teaching all of the children, all of the time”.  Jess sometimes shares a new picture books( Most People by Michael Leannah).  Ashley shares excitement about the progress of one of her students.  Or maybe we spend the time laughing about experiences from the previous day.  No matter what finds itself as the topic of discussion, I can always look forward to a fresh start with a cup of hot tea.  

2 thoughts on “Tea.

Leave a comment